asean fceremony18

Embassy personnel led by Cultural Officer and Assistant on ASEAN Affairs Ms. Imelda de Joya sang the ASEAN Hymn during the ASEAN flag-raising ceremony to celebrate the ASEAN Day


WARSAW ______ In celebration of the founding day of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), the Embassy of the Philippines in Warsaw today held an ASEAN flag-raising ceremony as all Embassy personnel, including the ambassador, sang the ASEAN Hymn.

ASEAN was established on 08 August 1967 by five original founding members which are: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. The Association has since expanded to ten member-States when Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, and Cambodia joined ASEAN.

ASEAN has “three community pillars’ which are: Political-Security Community, Economic Community, and Socio-Cultural Community. On 31 December 2016, the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) came into reality.

Today ASEAN is home to the most dynamic economies in the world with the combined GDP of US$2.5 trillion and 630 million people. If ASEAN were a single economy, it would be the 6th largest economy in the world.

Below is the full text of the ASEAN Hymn:

“Raise our flag high, sky high
Embrace the pride in our heart
ASEAN we are bonded as one
Look-in out to the world
For peace, our goal from the very start
And prosperity to last.

We dare to dream, we care to share
Together for ASEAN
We dare to dream, we care to share
For it’s the way of ASEAN.” (END)