31st ASEAN SUMMIT 2017

09 November 2017 MANILA – Leaders from twenty (20) countries from the ASEAN Member States, Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea (ROK), Russia, United States (US), Canada, European Union (EU), and the United Nations Secretary General will gather in Manila for the 31tst ASEAN Summit and Related Summits, which will be held on 10-14 November 2017. This will be the second of the two ASEAN Summits that the Philippines is hosting this year.
Under the theme “Partnering for Change, Engaging the World,” President Rodrigo RoaDuterte will chair the plenary of the 31st ASEAN Summit, where ASEAN Leaders will discuss the implementation of the ASEAN Community Vision 2025 and the way forward and the appointment of the new Secretary-General of ASEAN. They will also exchange views on pressing regional and international issues.
The President will also chair ASEAN’s 40th Anniversary Commemorative Summits with the United States of America, Canada and the European Union; 20th ASEAN Plus Three Commemorative Summit; the 20th ASEAN-China Summit, 19th ASEAN-Republic of Korea Summit; 20th ASEAN-Japan Summit; 12th East Asia Summit; 15th ASEAN-India Summit; and the 9th ASEAN-UN Summit. These meetings will review and take a look at the future direction of cooperation within these mechanisms.
The ASEAN Leaders will also have an interface with the ASEAN Business Advisory Council (ASEAN BAC) while the ASEAN Plus Three (APT) Leaders will have an interface with the East Asia Business Council. The ASEAN Leaders, along with the Leaders of Australia, China, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea and New Zealand, will have Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Leaders’ Summit. The ASEAN Secretary-General will also attend the Summit.
On 12 November 2017, the President will host a Special Gala Celebration on the 50th Anniversary of ASEAN.
The ASEAN Leaders will sign the ASEAN Consensus on the Protection and Promotion of the Rights of Migrant Workers, a landmark document that further seeks to strengthen social protection, access to justice, humane and fair treatment, and access to health services for the migrant workers of Southeast Asia.
At the Closing Ceremony of the 31st ASEAN Summit and Related Summits, President Duterte will hand over the Chairmanship of ASEAN to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong of Singapore, the incoming Chair for 2018.
Prior to the 31th ASEAN Summit and Related Summits on 13-14 November, preparatory meetings at the levels of Ministers and Senior Officials will take place on 10-12 November at Clark, Pampanga and in Manila.