L to R: Indonesian Ambassasdor H.E. Peter Frans Gontha, Malaysian Ambassador H.E. Dato’ Ahmad Fadul bin Shamsuddin handing over the gavel to Philippine Ambassador Ms. Patricia Ann V. Paez; Vietnamese Ambassador H.E. Vu Dang Dzung, and Thai Charge d’ Affaires Minister Paitoon Mahapannaporn



The ACW ambassadors and their respective staffers with the ASEAN#50 commemorative coins given by the Philippine Embassy in Warsaw



ACW discussing the line-up of activities for this year which marks ASEAN’s golden anniversary



Linking arms the “ASEAN Way;” L to R: Thai Charge d’Affaires Minister Paitoon Mahapannaporn; Vietnam’s Ambassador H.E. Vu Dang Dzung; Philippine Ambassador Ms. Patricia Ann V. Paez;  Indonesia’s Ambassador H.E. Peter Frans Gontha; and Malaysia’s Ambassador H.E. Dato’ Ahmad Fadil bin Shamsuddin



The Ambassador of Malaysia H.E. Dato’ Ahmad Fadil bin Shamsuddin turned over the chairmanship of the ASEAN Committee in Warsaw (ACW) to Philippine Ambassador Ms. Patricia Ann V. Paez during the ACW’s meeting today at the residence of the Malaysian envoy. The six-month term of the Philippines’ chairmanship will cover the period from 01 May until 01 November 2017.

Philippine envoy Amb. Paez’s chairmanship of the ACW coincides with this year’s Philippine Chairmanship of the 10-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) which is currently holding its Leader’s Summit in Manila. ASEAN is commemorating its 50th founding anniversary this year.

The ACW also welcomed to its fold the new ambassador of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam to Poland H.E. Mr. Vu Dang Dzung.

During the meeting, the ACW firmed up its line-up of activities for this year to mark ASEAN’s golden anniversary. The Philippine Embassy in Warsaw gave ASEAN@50 commemorative coins to all ACW ambassadors and their staffers after the ACW’s handover of chairmanship to the Philippines.

The ACW is composed of all ambassadors of ASEAN countries with embassies in Warsaw, namely, the ambassadors of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.